Con men

Lately, I watched  “I love you Phillip Morris”.

I Love you Phillip Morris

People already told me  how fun and tricky it was, I couldn’t wait to see it by myself. My first knowledge about it was that Jim Carrey played a gay … I finally got to watch it … and it was surprisingly awesome!!!

The movie begins with, Steven Russell (Jim Carrey) laying on an hospital bed, and the first line is :

Steven Russell: Love sure is a funny thing. Makes you happy, makes you sad, makes you do all sorts of things you never thought you’d do before. In fact, love’s the reason I’m laying here dying.” 

It says a lot! Althouth, it is not just a romantic comedy, the movie is geniously bluffy, as well as the real story that it has been inspired on : Steven Russell and Phillip Morris exist for real. Their story as incredible as it is, exists as well .

Steven Jay Russell is now in jail (not for so long I guess … lol !).

Steven Jay Russell, Phillip Morris

Steven Jay Russell, Phillip Morris

Besides being gay, he has an IQ of 163 as well …  FYI ,

I.Q.


Jim Carrey
 (“Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind”, “The Majestic”) delivered one of his best performance, and along with him,  Ewan McGregor (“The Ghost Writer”, “The Island” ), as the cutie and sensitive boyfriend. But, I feel I have to warn you about some scenes, they are not explicitely shocking … but it is necessary to be open-minded. His maximum sentence date is to July 12, 2140. (Steven Russell: “Fucking Texas.” )

Another great movie had been inspired from life of incredible con man :

The three times Oscar Winner Director : Steven Spielberg‘s movie : “Catch me if you can “ (2002) (nominated for 2 Oscars)

Catch Me If You Can

With Leonardo DiCaprio (“Shutter Island”, “Inception“) and the twice Oscar Winner Tom Hanks (“Toys Story 3″, Charlie Wilson’s War”),  relating the life of the young, … very young Frank Abagnale Jr.

Leonardo DiCaprio - Frank Abagnale Jr.

In the 60’s, Frank Abagnale Jr. meticulously passed forged checks across 26 countries over the course of five years, beginning when he was only 16 years old. His story ended better than Steven Russell’s … instead of having a life sentence in jail, he worked for the U.S. Federal Government as consultant and lecturer, and he built his own company “Abagnale & Associates”, a financial fraud consultancy company.

There is a saying : “Necessity is mother of invention” . Steven Russell, in jail, needed to join his boyfriend, and Frank Abagnale … well, it was to reunite his family at first …  Funny how incredibly genius those men are, it is sad they are more known for their bad actions …

Quotes

From “I love you Phillip Morris”

Steven Russell  : I love you, Phillip Morris! I love you!

Phillip Morris: Enough romance. Let’s fuck!

From “Catch me if you can”

Frank Abagnale, Jr.  (Leonardo DiCaprio) : Stop chasing me! 
Carl Hanratty (Tom Hanks) : I can’t stop, it’s my job.

Can it be more explicite ? … lol

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Laura

     /  June 7, 2011

    “Despite the fact that he is gay, he has an IQ of 163.” Wow! This is incredibly offensive. Are you suggesting that those of us who are gay are unintelligent? No studies have been done to link sexual orientation and intelligence. In fact, compared to the general population, gay people tend to have higher levels of education. There are not unplanned pregnancies that keep us away from higher education. You may not have intended to imply that gay folks are stupid, but please be careful in the way you talk about those of us who already have fewer rights and face more discrimination than most people.

    Reply
    • My apology for this huge mistake, I didn’t mean it that way at all.
      My mistake has been corrected.
      Thanks for your understanding!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

